top of page

Top tution from a top sewing machine shop

Just one hour with Cat at Direct Sewing Machines has taught me so much!

Direct Sewing Machines shop front with parking

Telling Cat in advance what I would like to learn about meant I came away with my head (and notebook!) stuffed with useful information. As well as showing/telling me how to (for instance) sew jersey fabric, she explained some of the principles about the fabrics, what they are made from and the implications for sewing.

Amongst other things, she showed me lots of tips and tricks to improve my lettering and automatic embroidery. Watch out for new ideas on the next batch of dresses!

My lesson with Cat was free because I had bought my sewing machine from Direct Sewing Machines but lessons can be booked at http://direct-sewingmachines.co.uk/page/387892-paid-tuition.aspx.

I really like Direct Sewing Machines and recommend them to everyone, especially in Bristol. As well as selling and tuition, they have serviced all of my (and some of my mum's) machines over the years - often on the spot when something is just jammed. Please support them because shops like this are disappearing fast - I would be lost without them.

bottom of page